RCP-Sunway-Cambridge seminars: medical emergencies - endocrinology and diabetes - 22nd May, 2021, 9:00 am (UK)

RCP-Sunway-Cambridge seminars: medical emergencies – endocrinology and diabetes


The Royal College of Physicians- Sunway- Cambridge medical seminars spring series of webinars are themed around medical emergencies and will bring together international and Malaysian expert specialists to share their insights on a variety of topics across the neurology, endocrinology/diabetes and rheumatology.

Join our panel of medical experts for episode two of our spring series featuring three clinical presentations on medical emergencies in endocrinology and diabetes.

This event took place on 22 May 2021 and is available to watch on-demand.

Programme
 

9.00am (BST)/ 4.00pm (Malaysia)​   Welcome and introduction of speakers​
Co-chairs: Dr Mumtaz Patel, RCP Global vice president, Royal College of Physicians and consultant nephrologist, Manchester Royal Infirmary, UK
Dr Joseph Cheriyan, consultant clinical pharmacologist, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Trust and associate lecturer, University of Cambridge
Dr Fraz Mir, consultant physician in acute medicine and clinical pharmacology and therapeutics, Addenbrooke’s Hospital and associate lecturer, Department of Medicine, University of Cambridge


9.05am (BST)/ 4.05pm (Malaysia)​   Thyroid-related emergencies
Dr Nadia Schoenmakers, Wellcome Trust senior clinical fellow, Wellcome-MRC Institute of Metabolic Science, University of Cambridge and honorary consultant endocrinologist, Cambridge University Hospitals, UK


9.45am (BST)/ 4.45pm (Malaysia)   Emergencies related to the hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenal axis
Professor Karim Meeran, professor of endocrinology, Imperial College London, UK


10.25am (BST)/ 5.25pm (Malaysia)   Diabetic emergencies: DKA, HHS, ABG, BOHB... OMG!
Dr Alexander Tan, consultant in endocrinology and diabetes, Sunway Medical Centre, Malaysia


11.05am (BST)/ 6.05pm (Malaysia)   Question and answer session


11.30am​ (BST)/ 6.30pm (Malaysia)   End of session​
 


RCP members price: Free 
Non-members price: Free

Not an RCP member? 

Join today to benefit from our monthly free digital events programme and enjoy preferential discounts on all our events, courses and conferences. Find out more 

If you would like to book this event please click below.

Watch now